Tuesday 15 January 2013

New Animated Film: The ABC of Architects

This charming new animated film by architect Andrea Stinga and graphic designer Federico Gonzalez shows the best-known buildings of 26 famous architects, one for each letter of the alphabet, reports Sheherazade James.

Based in Barcelona, the Columbian designer and artist Federico Gonzalez says he and Stinga found it challenging to select which architects to feature in the short film. To create a mix of contemporary and early Modernist architects they decided to include Le Corbusier's Villa Savoye, Alvar Aalto's Säynätsalo Town Hall, Frank Gehry's Guggenheim Bilbao and Zaha Hadid's Pierres Vives. The film is animated to create a 1930s feel with scratchy sounds and a whimsical musical score, The Butterfly by Eugene C. Rose and George Ruble.

The designers have used bright colours and 2D effects to create a '30s period look.  Each image shows a letter, the architect, his building and nationality as seen in the images below from the film. "This work is an alphabetical list of the most important architects with their best known building,"  say the designers. "A lot of them have been left out because we only need one for each letter and it was difficult to choose them and to include a range of different nationalities."

Click here to see the short film: http://vimeo.com/56974716

The film's list of architects and projects:

Alvar Aalto: Säynätsalo Town Hall, Finland
Luis Barragán: Satellite Towers,  Mexico City
Santiago Calatrava: Lyon Satolas Airport Railway Station, France
Luís Domènech I Montaner: Antoni Tàpies Foundation, Barcelona
Eduardo Souto de Moura: Paula Rego's House of Stories, Portugal
Norman Foster: London City Hall, England
Frank Gehry: Guggenheim Bilbao, Spain
Herzog & De Meuron: Beijing National Stadium, China
Arata Isozaki: Palau Sant Jordi, Barcelona
Philip Johnson: The Glass House, United States
Louis Kahn: National Parliament of Bangladesh, Dhaka City
Le Corbusier: Villa Savoye, Poissy, Francia
Ludwig Mies van der Rohe: Barcelona Pavilion, Spain
Oscar Niemeyer: National Congress of Brazil, Brasília
Joseph Maria Olbrich: Secession Building, Vienna, Austria
César Pelli: Petronas Twin Tower, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Giacomo Quarenghi: The Smolny Institute, St Petersburg, Russia
Renzo Piano + Richard Rogers: Pompidou Centre, Paris, Francia
Alvaro Siza: Ibere Camargo Foundation, Porto Alegre, Brazil
Kenzo Tange: Tokyo Olympic Stadium - Japan
Jørn Utzon: Sydney Opera House, Australia
William Van Alen: Chrysler Building, New York City
Frank Lloyd Wright: Guggenheim New York, United States
Iannis Xenakis: Philips Pavilion, Expo '58, Brussels
Minoru Yamasaki: World Trade Center
Zaha Hadid: The Pierres Vives Building, Montpellier, France

Subscribe to support our independent and original journalism, photography, artwork and film.